Bright Light Bright Light takes us to Fun City

A slice of synth-pop heaven from the Welsh wonder.

Bright Light Bright Light takes us to Fun City

Bright Light Bright Light – the performance alias of Rod Thomas – has released his album Fun City.

Fun City track list

1. “Touchy” (feat. Brendan MacLean)

2. “I Used To Be Cool”

3. “Sensation” (feat. Jake Shears)

4. “Good at Goodbyes” (feat. Andy Bell)

5. “You Make It So Easy Don’t You” (feat. Sam Sparro)

6. “It’s Alright It’s Okay” (feat. Caveboy)

7. “This Was My House” (feat. Niki Haris, Donna De Lory & Initial Talk)

8. “Never be Lonely” (feat. KAYE)

9. “These Dreams” (feat. The Illustrious Blacks)

10. “Love Song” (feat. Big Dipper)

11. “Next To You” (feat. Mark Gatiss)

12. “Saying Goodbye Is Exhausting” (feat. Justin Vivian Bond)

It’s Alright, It’s OK.

The title of the track is a nod to the Whitney classic.

Featuring on the track are the vocals of Montreal’s indie-pop trio Caveboy.

“Caveboy are my favourite music discovery this year…” said Bright Light Bright Light. “As three inspiring queer women, I thought they’d be an amazing fit for the song and its ethos.”

“It’s Alright, It’s OK” channels the LGBTQ community’s ongoing quest for societal respect, equality and self-identity, while being sonically inspired by the small queer clubs on London…” adds Bright Light Bright Light. “I was in the studio with Babydaddy of Scissor Sisters and we wanted to make something that would make us dance, and as we were building the sounds it started to remind me of Ghetto, a queer club in London that is long gone, but where Scissor Sisters songs were blasted in a tiny basement club where anyone and everyone under the LGBTQ umbrella used to go.”

“It makes me feel so at home so I ended up writing the lyrics about identity, belonging, and the fight to free yourself from being put into a box. The lyrics nod to Silence = Death and the LGBTQ struggle through time against prejudice and lazy labelling.”

The music video stars Honduran drag performer Glow Job. The video explores gender expression, identity and the reality of life and drag in lock-down – Glow gets all dressed up to be herself, but instead of going out, makes her home and the rooftop her stage.

I Used To Be Cool


Written about the euphoria of meeting someone you instantly connect with while in a fractured and divided world, the meaning behind Sensation feels amplified when viewed through the lens of the current health crisis.

“For a song about connection and celebrating who you are, Jake was totally my top choice…” said Bright Light Bright Light, talking about the collaboration. “It was so much fun to do a proper duet and have a voice that reminded me to be myself on a song about celebrating your community.”

“Rod’s songwriting always blows me away, and getting to record with him is an absolute joy…” added Jake Shears. “Sensation was just one of those songs, the first time I heard it, I was like – I flipping love this!”

This Was My House

This Was My House features the vocals of Niki Haris and Donna De Lory, and was written as an banner-waving ode to LGBTQ safe spaces.

“The song is about how the safe spaces for the LGBTQ community have been fractured of late with a palpable uprising of anti-LGBTQ and xenophobic rhetoric, which is scarily even more real now as these public spaces are closed for the foreseeable future due to the COVID-19 pandemic…” said Bright Light Bright Light.  “LGBTQ people – most notably trans women – are attacked and killed at an alarming rate, and so this song is a fierce statement that every living person deserves to feel safe in the place they call home, whoever you may be.”

“The idea of a deeply flawed but still beautiful world is what the album is about, so I thought it was a fitting image for how the LGBTQ world has had to find laughter and solidarity in face of prejudice through history, dancing through pain and living for love in spite of hate…” continued Bright Light Bright Light.

The video for the track features Bright Light Bright Light leading a merry march of party monsters into the subway system, through a dance club, and to the East Village rooftop of the apartment building he calls home. With a disco ball and Dream Phone in-tow, Bright Light Bright Light is joined by a cast of New York’s finest.

Of the video, Bright Light Bright Light says “because the song is about the LGBTQ community and our safe spaces, I wanted to fill it with as many people from the community as I possibly could. The cast are a glorious mix of human
rights advocates, party planners, party goers, bartenders, creatives and entrepreneurs who all make the tapestry of the NYC LGBTQ world so rich. I’m so grateful to them all for lending their talent, time and passion to my video.”